Dublin · GAA

Dubs too good for tame Wexford



Dublin ended their pre season preparations with a impressive performance ,as they won The Bord na Mona Walsh Cup for a impressive seventh time beating Wexford 1-22 to 1-12.

Dublin took the game to Wexford from the start Dublin forward Paul Ryanwas the Dubs main man as he top scored with 10 points.

Dublin got the first score of the game through David O’Callaghan and dominated the opening the first few minutes and were three points up after 6 minutes.

Wexford finally got going and got themselves back in the game and should have scored with 15 minutes gone but Dublin keeper Conor Dooley pulled off an impressive save.

Dublin extended their lead with a number of scores before the break as Wexford rued the missed chances as they trailed 0-11 to 0-04 at half time.

Despite Wexford getting the first score of the game, Dublin continued to dominate the final with David Treacy and John McCaffrey both scored excellent points as Dublin had a 8 point of lead of 0-14-0-06 with 20 minutes to go.

Wexford eventually got a lifeline through a goal from Liam OgMcGovern in the 54th minute after a great catch, turn and finish.

But Dublin wern`t going to let the game slip from their grasp as Eamonn Dillon responded immediately a with a Dublin goal to cancel it out.

Dublin saw out the last minutes adding points to their score and look in fine form as they look forward to their first league fixture in Thurles against Tipperary on the 13th February.




Dublin: C Dooley; J Boland, L Rushe, O Gough; F O Riain Broin (0-01), C Crummey, J McCaffrey (0-01); R McBride, N McMorrow (0-01); D Plunkett (0-01), P Ryan (0-10, 0-08f, 0-01 65), D Treacy (0-03); S Treacy (0-01), D O’Callaghan (0-03), E Dillon (1-01).

Substitutes: R Hardy for Boland, M Schutte for Hardy, S Reilly for Ryan.

Wexford: M Fanning; J Breen, M O’Hanlon, A Kenny; A Shore (0-01), L Ryan, D O’Keeffe; L Chin (0-01), H Kehoe (0-06, 0-06f); A Nolan, S Tomkins (0-01), P Morris; C Dunbar (0-02, 0-01 s/l), L Og McGovern (1-00), D Dunne (0-01).

Substitutes: J O’Connor for Morris, A Maddock for Nolan, B Carton for Dunne.

Referee: J Keenan (Wicklow).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s