Dublin hurlers aim to get 2016 off to a winning start: Bord na Móna Walsh Cup preview


The Dublin players arrive ahead of tonight`s game/ Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


Dublin have named their team for their first match of senior hurling in 2016. In tonight`s Walsh Cup opener tonight against UCD.

The all Dublin affair sees Dublin in action against the students in Belfield at 7.30pm.

Manager Ger Cunningham has included a mix of youth and experience in tonight`s squad. With seven players who started last July’s All-Ireland quarter-final loss against Waterford included.

Among those who last featured for Dublin are, Gary Maguire, Chris Crummey, Liam Rushe, Joey Boland, Johnny McCaffrey, Paul Ryan and Mark Schutte all started in that defeat in Thurles last summer. While David Treacy and Eamon Dillon came on as subs in that game.

Cunningham appears to be doing what Dublin football manager Jim Gvain is doing with his side. Trying out different players to see if they can fill any missing links for the Dublin on both codes.

Ultimately Dublin will be hoping 2016 is a better year for them in the All-Ireland. After being knocked out in the quarter finals two years in succession, Tipperary knocked them out in 2014 and Waterford ended any dreams of Dublin winning the Liam McCarthy cup in 2015.

But if Dublin have a good pre season and carry the momentum into the league, there is no doubt they can carry it further still into the All-Ireland. The season is obviously still very young, but people will be keeping a close eye on the Dublin Hurlers as they begin 2016.

Dublin team v UCD.

1. Chris Bennett (Faughs)
2. Joey Boland (Na Fianna)
3. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
4. Eamonn Dillon (Nh Fionnbarra)
5. Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
6. Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
7. Oisín Gough (Cuala)
8. Rob Hardy (St Jude’s)
9. Cian Mac Giolla Bhríde (St Vincent’s)
10. Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
11. Rian McBride (St Vincent’s)
12. Johnny McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields)
13. Fíontán Mac Gibb (Setanta)
14. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
15. Darragh O’Connell (Cuala)
16. Seán O’Reilly (Thomas Davis)
17. Fionn O Riain Broin (St Jude’s)
18. Ben Quinn (Crumlin)
19. Liam Rushe (St Pat’s, Palmerstown)
20. Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
21. Mark Schutte (Cuala)
22. David Treacy (Cuala)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s